UNESCO Chairs Programme


UNESCO Chairs Programme: was launched in 1992, the programme supports the establishment of UNESCO Chairs in key priority areas related to UNESCO’s fields of competence – Education, Natural & Social Sciences, Culture and Communication. The objectives of this programme to promote international cooperation and networking between universities. It helps reinforce higher education institutions worldwide, bridge the knowledge gap, mobilize university expertise and collaborate around the Sustainable Development Agenda 2030. Today, the network comprises more than 830 UNESCO Chairs in over 110 UNESCO Member States including Pakistan. The deadline for submission of UNESCO Chairs proposals to UNESCO is 30th April each year.

Presently, we have five (5) UNESCO Chairs in different Universities.

UNESCO Chair in the “Conservation and Management of Historic Towns and Urban Centres” established in 2009 at the National College of Arts, Lahore.


UNESCO Chair “Light for Health” was established in 2011 at the Pakistan Institute for Engineering and Applied Sciences (PIEAS), Islamabad.


UNESCO Chair on “Information and Communication Technology for Development” was established in 2018 at Information Technology University, Lahore.


UNESCO Chair on “Knowledge Systems for Integrated Water Resources Management” established in 2019 at COMSATS University, Islamabad.


UNESCO Chair on “Medicinal and Bio-Organic Natural Product Chemistry” established in 2020 at University of Karachi.


ICESCO Chairs in Pakistan

            The following two chairs have been awarded to the following Universities by ICESCO:

  1. The Creation of ICESCO Chair for Big Data Analytics and Edge Computing at Quaid-e-
    Azam University, Islamabad.
  2. The Creation of ICESCO Chair of Data Science and Analytics for Business at National University of Science and Technology (NUST), Islamabad.